Do I care enough to…

I’ve been pondering recently about the issue I have struggled a lot with in the past, and even in this present time. It’s to do with liking people.

Do I really need to like people or like being around them? How is liking and love different? If I don’t like someone am I truly loving them?

Here’s where I started…

I was reflecting upon some of the friends in my life whom I do struggle to like. So, I suppose, I could question whether they are my friends or not! Because they are not people I hate or seek to avoid I cannot call them my enemies and so I see them as my friends – just friends I don’t like that much!! πŸ™‚

Anyways, I started to ask myself why I don’t like them. I came to the realisation that there is one group of people I don’t seem to hang around with all that much – those who talk a lot. There are others but I won’t go down there just yet.

For those who talk a lot, what is it that I dislike about them? Well, they seem to have this great capacity to talk incessantly. I really don’t know how they do it! I must say there is this admiration for the way they can talk about nothing for so long. Sometimes I do wish I could be like that – especially in those awkward times when there is a long silence and you want to say something but just don’t know what to say or where to start.

Now, I like to have my say, put in my two bits worth but when that tongue keeps wagging it’s hard to get a word in. I feel like I’m interrupting! Maybe this is part of my problem?

Another reason why I seem to dislike being with my friends who talk so much is because they also have this capacity to turn any conversation around. I could be having this great conversation with another friend when in walks my mate who loves to talk a lot and before I know it, the conversation has completely changed and now we’re talking about stuff that had absolutely nothing to do with what we were just talking about.

Do you understand what I mean? Ever feel like that?

Now, I realise that a lot of this has to do with my selfishness and pride. It’s something I’m trying to work on. Just when I think I’m getting there in walks another one of my friends who loves to talk a lot and I suddenly realise – there’s a lot more work to do yet!

Now, the confusing thing for me is that these friends of mine (and I know quite a few of them like this) is that they are very loving, caring, giving people. They would give an arm or a leg if they had to! It’s the common traits they seem to have. I lose perspective so fast and forget what type of people they are because I’m focused on the noise coming out of their mouth wondering if they are going to stop long enough to being able to suck in enough air to keep going.

So, I’ve come to the point where I am now asking myself, do I care enough… to just listen to them, follow their conversational thought and appreciate them for their loving, caring and giving hearts?

The truth is, no! I don’t care enough. Does that then reflect a heart of love towards that person? And now I am realising that I need to learn how to love… how to love those who talk so much I just want to walk away.

How about you? Do you struggle with this? How have you gained the victory? Over to you now…

This entry was posted in Behavior, Emotional Responses, Humlity, Love, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do I care enough to…

  1. lannalife says:

    In posting this blog my intention was not to think of one particular person but rather to highlight what God is doing in my life in regards to how I view others. Those who speak incessantly is an easy group to identify with. There are others too! πŸ™‚

    I know that I’m selfish, thinking of my own needs first and not taking the time to think of the needs of others. Maybe, just maybe, if I listened long enough I just might discover the heart cry of the person who does talk so much?

    People say that what we struggle with in others is what we dislike in ourselves – we just don’t know how to deal with it. If this is true, then what is it about me that I am really struggling with? For me, I’m not an incessant talker. In fact, I’ve been working in this area so that I can talk a little bit more han what I do. I think it is determined by whom I am with as to how much I do talk.

Leave a Reply

